Level 6 Reader | Metamorphoses Ovidii: Loci Septem Egregii


Metamorphoses Ovidii: Loci Septem Egregii is a Latin student edition of selections from Ovid’s Metamorphoses (“Transformations”). Publius Ovidius Naso (43 B.C. – A.D. 17), known in English simply as Ovid, is one of the greatest of the Roman poets. His largest and most infl uential work, the Metamorphoses, which comprises 15 books and over 12,000 lines of dactylic hexameter poetry, is not only a veritable encyclopedia of classical mythology, but also a masterful epic poem that has had a profound impact on the Western literary tradition, including signifi cant authors such as Dante, Boccaccio, Chaucer, and Shakespeare. This Latin edition is designed for highly advanced Latin students and, as such, contains no English translation, defi nitions, summaries, or interpretations. Instead, it provides facing-page lexical, grammatical, and contextual prompts along with a Latin-Latin dictionary at the end of the book. Included are seven of the best and most beloved stories from the Metamorphoses: “Daphne et Apollo,” “Iuppiter et Io,” “Phaethon” (selections), “Echo et Narcissus,” “Pyramus et Thisbe,” “Latona,” and “Pygmalion.”

SKU: PR6-003 Categories: ,

Caleb Harris is a Lecturer of Classical Languages at New Saint Andrews College in Moscow, ID, where he teaches Latin at the undergraduate
level. He received his B.A. (2019) and M.A. (2021) in Liberal Arts and Culture from New Saint Andrews, where he also produced translations of never-before-translated Latin material from the Reformation era. He resides in Moscow, ID with his wife and two children.

Questions or Comments?
Save & Share Cart
Your Shopping Cart will be saved and you'll be given a link. You, or anyone with the link, can use it to retrieve your Cart at any time.
Back Save & Share Cart
Your Shopping Cart will be saved with Product pictures and information, and Cart Totals. Then send it to yourself, or a friend, with a link to retrieve it at any time.
Your cart email sent successfully :)